What are trademark classes?

Photo of Tomas Orsula

Written by Tomas Orsula

Senior Trademark Attorney

Trademark classes, also known as classification or class numbers, are a system used to categorize and organize goods and services for trademark registration purposes. The classification system helps ensure consistency and uniformity in classifying trademarks across different jurisdictions.

The most widely used classification system is the Nice Classification system, established by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). It divides goods and services into a total of 45 classes. The first 34 classes are dedicated to goods, while the remaining 11 classes are for services.

Each class represents a distinct category of goods or services. For example, Class 25 covers clothing, footwear, and headgear, while Class 35 relates to advertising, business management, and retail services. Class 41 includes education and entertainment services, and Class 45 covers legal and security services.

You can find an overview of all classes in our article Understanding goods & services selection.

Related articles

Advice icon

Haven't found what you are looking for?

Our team of experienced trademark attorneys is here to help you! Simply send us an email outlining your request and we'll be happy to assist you.