What are trademark categories?

Photo of Tomas Orsula

Written by Tomas Orsula

Senior Trademark Attorney

Trademark categories, also known as trademark classes or class numbers, are a system used to classify goods and services for the purpose of trademark registration. They provide a structured framework for organizing and categorizing different types of products and services.

The most commonly used classification system is the Nice Classification system, which divides goods and services into a total of 45 classes. The first 34 classes are dedicated to goods, while the remaining 11 classes are for services.

Trademark categories represent specific areas of goods or services and help to distinguish between different industries and sectors. Each category is assigned a unique class number and corresponds to a particular type of product or service.

For example, goods categories (Classes 1-34) cover a wide range of products such as chemicals, paints, cosmetics, machinery, vehicles, clothing, furniture, and more. Service categories (Classes 35-45) encompass areas such as advertising, business management, telecommunications, education, legal services, and entertainment.

Related questions

Advice icon

Haven't found what you are looking for?

Our team of experienced trademark attorneys is here to help you! Simply send us an email outlining your request and we'll be happy to assist you.