How many classes of goods and services are there?

Photo of Igor Demcak

Written by Igor Demcak

CEO & Legal Mind

There are 45 classes of goods and services used for trademark classification. These classes are organized based on the Nice Classification system, which is an international classification system used by most countries around the world.

The Nice Classification system categorizes goods and services into different classes based on their nature or purpose. The first 34 classes are dedicated to goods, while the remaining 11 classes are for services. Each class represents a distinct category of goods or services.

When filing a trademark application, it's essential to specify the relevant class or classes that correspond to the goods or services associated with your mark. This ensures that your trademark is properly classified and protected within the specific categories of goods or services you intend to use it for.

Advice icon

Haven't found what you are looking for?

Our team of experienced trademark attorneys is here to help you! Simply send us an email outlining your request and we'll be happy to assist you.