Which countries are covered by EUIPO?

Photo of Igor Demcak

Written by Igor Demcak

Founder & Trademark Attorney

A European Union trademark (EUTM), issued by the EUIPO, is valid in all member states of the EU, which as of 2023 comprises:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.

The validity will generally be extended automatically if a new country joins the EU, with space for exceptions.

This means a EUTM will not be valid in countries like the UK, Switzerland and Norway.

Advice icon

Haven't found what you are looking for?

Our team of experienced trademark attorneys is here to help you! Simply send us an email outlining your request and we'll be happy to assist you.