What trademark classes are used in the US?

Photo of Tomas Orsula

Written by Tomas Orsula

Senior Trademark Attorney

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) uses the Nice Classification system to classify goods and services for the purposes of trademark registration. The system consists of 45 classes, with Classes 1-34 covering goods and Classes 35-45 covering services. You can find a brief overview of all classes in this article. Each of the classes then consists of a long list of goods and services items.

It's worth mentioning that although the US employs the Nice Classification system, it does not require applicants to adhere to it strictly. Applicants can select goods and services items from a pre-approved list (using a TEAS Plus application) or use their own descriptions (TEAS Standard application). The first option is cheaper and generally has a higher success rate.

Advice icon

Haven't found what you are looking for?

Our team of experienced trademark attorneys is here to help you! Simply send us an email outlining your request and we'll be happy to assist you.