What trademark classes are used in the EU?

Photo of Jan Buza

Written by Jan Buza

Co-founder of Trama

The EU uses the Nice Classification system to classify goods and services in trademark applications, just like many other countries around the world. All EU member states use the same system as well.

Nice Classification is an international classification system established by the Nice Agreement in 1957, administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). It categorizes business subjects into 45 classes, the first 35 covering goods and the other 10 covering services.

You can find the list of all Nice classes in our article Understanding goods & services selection .

Advice icon

Haven't found what you are looking for?

Our team of experienced trademark attorneys is here to help you! Simply send us an email outlining your request and we'll be happy to assist you.